GovHack Perth

Important News: We’ve prepared a shiny new event portal to give you resources you’ll need to have a great GovHack, whether you’re a participant, a mentor, or a media representative. And, if you’re a competitor, you should definitely check out the Competitor Information Pack we’ve prepared for you.

We’re running a team building and data wrangling event to help get you prepared for GovHack, so you can make the most of your time on the weekend. Come along on June 26, 2014 to meet your fellow GovHackers and GovHack data mentors, pitch a project, sell your idea, and find a team!

Calling all hackers!  Ever wanted to dive into Government data and find out what is under the hood?  Come join us for a weekend of exploring Australian data and archives, building awesome tools and apps, competing for some great prizes, and having fun.

You don’t even need to be a programmer to take part.  Developers, historians, scientists, data analysts, designers, and enthusiasts of all kinds have participated in past GovHack events, and we’d love you to bring your particular skills and experience along.

Haven’t got a team or an idea?  Not a problem!  Sign up, and we’ll help you explore ideas and find others who share your interests on the day.



When and when?

GovHack 2014 will be held over the weekend of 11 – 13 July, at Spacecubed (45 St Georges Terrace) in the middle of the Perth CBD.   (Here’s how to get there.)

You can also check out the preliminary schedule for the weekend here.  We’ll be adding more detail as it becomes available.


Our Sponsors

GovHack Perth exists thanks to the support of the fantastic Western Australian businesses and Government agencies who have chosen to be a part of the event.

If you’re interested in becoming a sponsor 2014, you can fill out our sponsorship interest form or get in touch on Twitter.  In addition to funding, we also welcome in-kind sponsorship, and donations of interesting datasets to inspire our participants.

We’ll be updating the list of sponsors in the side bar as more are announced.


Our Organisers

The Perth organisers for GovHack 2014 are:

Keith Moss | Nic Templeman | Zane Prickett | Tamryn Barker | Ivy Clark | Isaak Dury | Jan Bryson | Tim Sondalini | Mark Togher | Helen Ensikat | Anna Johnson

If you have any questions feel free to send us a message or ask us on Twitter.


Coming Soon

Judges and Mentors will be announced in the coming weeks.  We’ll also publish a list of useful links to Western Australian Government data resources and archives as the event draws closer.

Add a comment

You must be logged in to comment.

Register for GovHack Perth 2014


Support GovHack: become a sponsor, mentor, or data provider


Subscribe to GovHack 2014 Announcements


Local Gold Sponsors (WA)

Government of Western Australia



Local Silver Sponsors (WA)

Amazon AWS

Local Sponsors (WA)


Centre for Comparative Genomics (WA)

Local In-kind Sponsors (WA)

Partner and Prosper



GovHack Perth Tweets

Who’s behind GovHack?

This is a non-profit event proudly run by volunteers, and put together with support from the Australian Gov 2.0 community (#gov2au).

Sponsoring GovHack 2014

The call for 2014 sponsors is now closed. If you are interested in sponsoring next year, please contact: Pia Waugh (0400 966 453) or Sharen Scott (0417 068 875)

The GovHack Volunteers

Click through to find us on Twitter and Google+ Pia WaughGeoff Mason (G+), Gavin Tapp, Alex Sadleir, Clare Paine, Sharen Scott, Steven De Costa, Diana Ferry and Steph Mellor. A huge thank you to Richard Tubb, Jan Bryson, Tren Christiansen and to Ana and Michael from the NICTA eGov and Technology Cluster for their huge support too!
Privacy Statement Canberra Web Design and Hosting sponsored by Link Digital.